Employment Immigration

Employment-Based Immigration


What is Employment-Based Immigration?

The Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) provides a yearly minimum of 140,000 employment-based immigrant visas which allows aliens to obtain U.S. permanent residence (green card) through the employment-based immigration process. There are generally five preference categories in Employment-Based Immigration.

Categories in Employment Immigration?

The categories in Employment-Based Immigration are listed below:

Catogory Description
EB-1A Extraordinary Ability Worker
EB-1B Outstanding Professors and Managers
EB-1C Multinational Executives and Managers
EB-2 Workers with Exceptional Ability and Advanced Degree
EB-2 with NIV EB-2 Workers with Natinal Interest Waiver
EB-3 Professional, Skilled and Unskilled Worker
EB-4 Special Immigrants
EB-5 Investment Immigration

An important part in the EB-2 and EB-3 categories is the application of Labor Certification. Please visit the Labor Certification page for detail information. The current program to apply for Labor Certification is called PERM, and there is a shortened process of Labor Certification for certain job classification on "Schedule A".

// Skimlinks.com code login: seanyuan@ymail.com